• 13-DEC-2016

  • Bruxelles, Belgium


Antonio Tajani elected as EPP Group nominee for Parliament President

The EPP Group has today elected Antonio Tajani as its candidate for the post of President of the European Parliament.

Antonio Tajani (63) has been a Member of the European Parliament since 1994. He was Vice-President of the European Commission from 2008 until 2014, first as Commissioner for Transport (2008-10), then as Commissioner for Industry and Entrepreneurship (2010-14). He became the First Vice-President of the European Parliament in 2014 and has been Vice-President of the European People's Party since 2002.