Record-Breaking Grid for the Lamborghini Blancpain Super Trofeo Europe

Record-Breaking Grid for the Lamborghini Blancpain Super Trofeo Europe

Release Date: 21 April 2016

Monza will see 47 Huracán LP 620-2 cars lining up for the opening round of the Lamborghini Blancpain Super Trofeo Europe this coming weekend. Following the success of the last season, this is a record grid for the first of six double rounds in the eighth year of the single-marque series. With 22 teams and 70 drivers, the Monza venue is shared with the prestigious Blancpain GT Series Endurance Cup.

Apart from the impressive entry figures, the series is also focused on first class venues. The international calendar, which includes stops in Silverstone, Paul Ricard, Spa-Francorchamps (for the 24 Hours) and Nürburgring, reaches its climax in Valencia with the fourth edition of the World Final scheduled at the beginning of December. The Asia and North America Series will also converge on the Spanish track: both series start in May, each of which will include a race on a city circuit (in Kuala Lumpur and the new "street race" in Boston).

Giorgio Sanna, head of Lamborghini Motorsport, is very pleased at the record-breaking grid and explains: "We are opening the 2016 season of the Lamborghini Blancpain Super Trofeo with important participation numbers, which indicate a growing trend in terms of interest in our sports programs. As the number of cars has increased, we have also improved the organizational structure on track to support customer teams, and provide a service that reflects the standards of Lamborghini."

The 2016 Lamborghini Blancpain Super Trofeo Europe has the same two-race format as in past years (each race lasts 50 minutes with a mandatory pit-stop and two 15-minute qualifying sessions to define the starting grid), but there are also changes: first and foremost is the introduction of the new Lamborghini Cup, created for less experienced drivers, which is added to the existing PRO, PRO-AM and AM classes.

The spotlight is also turned on new arrivals with seven debuting teams: Attempto Racing, Dörr Motorsport, FFF Racing Team, GDL Motorsport, GT3 Poland, MN Development and Van der Horst Motorsport. In addition Petri Corse is making a return: it won the team title in 2009 and comes onto the starting line with an exceptional name, that of former F1 driver Nicola Larini.

adding all to cart
File added to media cart.